Like a Virgin, a blog virgin that is…

At the risk of sounding like a cliché, although I’m okay with most clichés, I must say that this is my very first time ever writing a blog post.  Is it even called a blog post?  The fact that I don’t know must make me a blog virgin…  Is that even a thing?

I haven’t decided what the focus of this blog should be.  Goodness knows I have lots to choose from, so I will begin by introducing myself.

My name is Adrienne, and I am currently at a difficult spot in my life.  After more than five years as an engineering student, I am so close to having my masters degree in civil engineering with a concentration in structures, but I am just as close to giving up.  When I started engineering school I was focused like a laser, but now I am scattered like a sandcastle that some mean person kicked over.  A diagnosis of systemic lupus and some health complications have damaged my self esteem so much, I sometimes question my worth as a human, not just my future worth as an engineer.  At times I feel that I am just a waste of space on this earth, but there is absolutely nothing I can do about those feelings.  I have children, and they need a mother who is strong enough to own her place in the world and do something proactive.  It’s just that right now, that’s not me.

2 thoughts on “Like a Virgin, a blog virgin that is…

Leave a Reply

