Interview with an Introvert

Recently, I did something completely out of character for me.

I participated in a podcast interview.

Had I not felt an immediate connection to the podcast title, I’m not sure I would have had the nerve to do it. I am an introvert after all.

There aren’t many opportunities out there for indie authors to be taken seriously, so I had to go after the chance to be on a podcast. I went into the interview with a great deal of trepidation, but an hour into it I was more than glad I had pushed myself.

The host of The Introverted Indie Author Podcast is a man named Michael Sanford. He is an independent author who identifies as an introvert and thought it would be fun to bring other introverted authors together to see how much awkward silence he could generate. As it turns out, silence wasn’t a problem at all–it can be edited out. Also, both of us were comfortable with the occasional need to reflect and regroup during the interview process.

I went into the interview willing to be completely open about any subjects that arose. What I learned is that openness during an interview, especially an interview with a stranger, feels oddly intimate. We talked about the process of writing. We touched on some of my published works, and we discussed living with chronic illness. Through it all, Michael had his webcam activated, but I was too afraid to turn mine on. Somewhere around the fifty-minute mark, I finally turned it on. I’m proud that I was able to, eventually, get over my fear of being seen on a webcam. Turns out it’s not that bad. I’m not winning any beauty contests, but I didn’t break the computer screen either.

Now for the hard part… I have to post the interview to my social media profiles and encourage people to listen.

Why is this hard? Because I am an introvert, and I suffer from social anxiety.

The fear of being judged on any level keeps me isolated and silent most of the time. I’m sure I said plenty of perfectly smart and authorly things during the podcast interview, but I don’t remember most of it. Of course, what stuck in my mind are the myriad tiny things I could have done better. I’m sure I will listen to this interview at some point, but until then, I will live vicariously through others. Click the link below to give it a listen. Be sure to leave a comment to let me know what you thought.

Wandering with a Writer, Episode 3, Adrienne D’nelle Ruvalcaba

Introvert

Leave a Reply

